Sullivan Supply, Inc. Recipient of 2018 Iowa Venture Award

posted on Wednesday, December 5, 2018 in News

The Iowa Area Development Group (IADG), on behalf of Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives, municipal utilities and independent telecommunication companies, honored eight distinguished Iowa companies with the Iowa Venture Award at a luncheon held in conjunction with the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives’ annual meeting.

Sullivan Supply, Inc. is an innovative leader of livestock show supplies. The company has been family owned and operated since it began in the family garage in 1989. In spring, 2018, they completed a new 67,400 sq. ft. headquarters, manufacturing, research and development, warehousing, and distribution facility in the Dunlap Industrial Park. In 2010, to give back to the stock show industry, Sullivan Supply created Stock Show University, a non-profit organization to educate the youth in the livestock industry on the proper techniques to show animals. Sullivan Supply was nominated by Harrison County Rural Electric Cooperative.Sullivan Supply 2018 Iowa Venture Award Recipient

“The Iowa Venture Awards Luncheon provides a forum to celebrate the courage, contribution, innovation, responsibility, and vision of Iowa entrepreneurs,” said IADG President Rand Fisher. “Sullivan Supply and their products and services are renowned for their quality, innovation and commitment to the livestock industry.

Additional Iowa Venture Award recipients include:
Eagle’s Catch - Ellsworth
Martin Marietta – Gilmore City
Nutriom – Panora
Perry Creek Dairy – MerrillPrestage Foods of Iowa – Eagle Grove “Outstanding Business of the
Trinity Fabricators, Inc. – New Albin
Waspy’s Truck Stop - Templeton

About the Iowa Venture Award
This marks the 31st year that IADG has presented Iowa Venture Awards to individuals and organizations, both large and small, in recognition of their significant contributions to Iowa's economy through entrepreneurial leadership, innovation and the creation of job opportunities. History has demonstrated that these are among the most accomplished and successful companies in the state. Together they are helping to sustain and grow Iowa’s economy. The Iowa Venture Award Hall of Fame showcasing these 264 companies can be found at

About Iowa Area Development Group (IADG)
IADG is the business and community development leader for Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives, municipal utilities and independent telecommunication companies. Since 1985, the partnerships and economic development efforts of IADG and their sponsors have assisted with more than 2,100 projects, generating in excess of $12 billion of capital investment and over 53,000 new or retained jobs for Iowa. 


Pictured left to right:  Bill Hutcheson, Director, Harrison County REC; James Sharp, Director, Harrison County REC; Tim Sproul, Harrison County REC; Joe Farley, Executive VP & Manager, Harrison County REC; Mike Naig, IA Secretary of Agriculture; Matt Burkhart, Sullivan Supply, Inc.; Tammy Burkhart, Sullivan Supply, Inc.; Lynn Randall, Sullivan Supply, Inc.; Jay Randall, Sullivan Supply, Inc.; Charles Petterson, Director, Harrison County REC; and Rand Fisher, President, IADG.