Eagle's Catch Fish Farm Honored with Iowa Venture Award

posted on Wednesday, December 5, 2018 in News

The Iowa Area Development Group (IADG), on behalf of Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives, municipal utilities and independent telecommunication companies, honored eight distinguished Iowa companies with the Iowa Venture Award at a luncheon held in conjunction with the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives’ annual meeting.

Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm, located in Ellsworth, is a recipient of a 2018 Iowa Venture Award. Eagle’s Catch invested approximately $12 million to construct a large-scale tilapia production facility in the Ellsworth Industrial Park. The facility was designed with state-of-the-art engineering that will minimize biosecurity risk, and will be as water neutral as possible. The efficiency goal is to lose less than 1% of the facility’s water capacity per day. Eagle’s Catch leaders plan for the company to quickly become one of the largest tilapia growing facilities in the United States. Eagle’s Catch is a dynamic company supporting the rapidly expanding aquaculture industry in Iowa. Eagle’s Catch was nominated by Midland Power Cooperative.

Eagle's Catch 2018 Iowa Venture Award Recipient

“The Iowa Venture Awards Luncheon provides a forum to celebrate the courage, contribution, innovation, responsibility, and vision of Iowa entrepreneurs,” said IADG President Rand Fisher. “Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm is an exciting new company and promises to be a major contributor to Iowa’s leadership role in the rapidly growing aquaculture industry, both in Iowa and the United States.”

Additional Iowa Venture Award recipients include:

Martin Marietta – Gilmore City
Nutriom – Panora
Perry Creek Dairy – Merrill
Prestage Foods of Iowa – Eagle Grove “Outstanding Business of the Year”
Sullivan Supply, Inc. – Dunlap
Trinity Fabricators, Inc. – New Albin
Waspy’s Truck Stop - Templeton

About the Iowa Venture Award
This marks the 31st year that IADG has presented Iowa Venture Awards to individuals and organizations, both large and small, in recognition of their significant contributions to Iowa's economy through entrepreneurial leadership, innovation and the creation of job opportunities. History has demonstrated that these are among the most accomplished and successful companies in the state. Together they are helping to sustain and grow Iowa’s economy. The Iowa Venture Award Hall of Fame showcasing these 264 companies can be found at

About Iowa Area Development Group (IADG)
IADG is the business and community development leader for Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives, municipal utilities and independent telecommunication companies. Since 1985, the partnerships and economic development efforts of IADG and their sponsors have assisted with more than 2,100 projects, generating in excess of $12 billion of capital investment and over 53,000 new or retained jobs for Iowa. 


Pictured left to right:  Mike Naig, IA Secretary of Agriculture; Thomas Ross, Director, Midland Power Cooperative; Charles Gilbert, Director, Midland Power Cooperative; Dave Sweeney, Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm; Nathan Katzer, Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm; Dave Block, Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm; Ro Block, Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm; Joe Sweeney, Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm; Shannon Skartvedt, Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm; Paul Skartvedt, Eagle’s Catch Fish Farm;  Bill McKim, CEO, Midland Power Cooperative; Kara Boyle, Marketing and Communications Assistant, Midland Power Cooperative; Paul Heineman, Director, Midland Power Cooperative; Kimberly Rinker, Director, Midland Power Cooperative; Jack Runge, Director, Midland Power Cooperative; Norm Fandel, VP of Business Development/Members Services, Midland Power Cooperative; and Rand Fisher, President, IADG.