Iowa Venture Awards Honor Entrepreneurial Leadership and Achievement

posted on Thursday, November 29, 2012 in News

The Iowa Area Development Group (IADG), on behalf of Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives and member municipal electric systems has honored nine distinguished Iowa companies with the Iowa Venture Award. The Iowa Venture Award business recognition program began in 1988 and over the past 25 years has honored over 200 of Iowa’s most accomplished business leaders and companies.

The 2012 “Outstanding Business of the Year” Venture Award was presented to Sedgwick, Inc.
Sedgwick is a leader in third party claims management solutions for major employers. Sedgwick began operations with a call center and 30 employees in Dubuque in 2006. Since then they have increased both their facility and workforce and now employ 350 people in Dubuque. In 2011, Sedgwick opened a new 8,200 sq. ft. center in Bellevue to handle a variety of support services. The Bellevue facility will employ 60 people when fully staffed.

“The Iowa Venture Awards Luncheon provides a forum to celebrate the courage, contribution, innovation responsibility and vision of Iowa entrepreneurs,” said IADG President Rand Fisher. “IADG, on behalf of our sponsors, is proud to recognize these nine outstanding companies for their contribution to their community,region and state."

An Iowa Venture Award was also presented to Iowa Community Development (ICD), for “Distinguished Leadership.” ICD is an organization that was created to enable rural Iowa communities to apply and compete for federal tax credits from the US Department of Treasury. Since ICD’s first year in 2006, they have successfully secured four awards totaling $200 million in tax credits that have funded 17 major development and redevelopment projects. This very special award is only occasionally presented to organizations that have partnered with IADG and its sponsors, to make significant accomplishments and contributions of a lasting and beneficial nature for all of Iowa.

Seven additional businesses recognized with an Iowa Venture Award for their significant contributions in diversifying and strengthening Iowa’s economy. These 2012 Iowa Venture Award Recipients include: Advanced Drainage Systems, Inc., Hampton; Dow AgroSciences, Nevada; DuPont Pioneer, Spencer; Kehl Management, Inc., Larchwood & Riverside; Murphy-Brown, Algona; Premier Sheep Supplies, Washington; and “The Ridge” Char-Mac Senior-Living, Holstein. Iowa Association of Business and Industry President Mike Ralston assisted in presenting the Iowa Venture Awards and honoring the Iowa companies and their leaders.

The Iowa Venture Award honors the entrepreneurial spirit of individuals and organizations. Over a quarter century IADG has recognized companies, large and small. History has demonstrated that these companies are among the most accomplished and successful companies in the state. Together they are helping to sustain and grow Iowa’s economy. The Iowa Venture Award Hall of Fame can be found at

IADG is the business and community development leader for Iowa’s rural electric cooperatives and member municipal electric utilities. Since 1985, the Powerful Partnerships and economic development efforts of IADG and their sponsors have helped to generate over $6 billion of capital investment and created or retained nearly 40,000 jobs for Iowa. The 2012 Iowa Venture Awards luncheon ceremony was held in conjunction with the Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives’ annual meeting in West Des Moines.