Impact Awards

RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVESHeartland Power Cooperative is presented with an IADG Impact Award

The Rural Electric Cooperatives are recognized for their economic development contributions in the areas of Project Development, Site Development, Community Development, Policy Development and Marketing. Iowa Area Development Group honored the following electric utilities:

Project Development
  • Access Energy Cooperative for MPC Enterprises, Lomont Molding, ContiTech, and Hearth & Home

  • Allamakee-Clayton Electric Cooperative for Trinity Fabrication

  • Central Iowa Power Cooperative for Continental Manufacturing Chemist, Bricker Price, Sully Locker & Market

  • Chariton Valley Electric Cooperative for Smith Fertilizer and Grain

  • City of Onawa for Burgess Hospital Expansion

  • Corn Belt Power Cooperative for 25 major projects including Prestage Farms and NEW Cooperative, Jim Vermeer President of National Rural Economic Development Association, and enhanced marketing of sites through video

  • Farmers Electric Cooperative for Ascherl Chiropractic

  • Harrison County REC for Sullivan Supply

  • Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative for Redwood Farms

  • Midland Power Cooperative for Naturally Recycled Proteins, Iowa Cage Free

  • Pella Cooperative Electric Association for Sully Locker & Market, RLF Policy Change

  • Prairie Energy Cooperative for NEW Cooperative, Hawkeye Pride, Prestage Farms

  • Webster City Municipal Utilities for Mary Ann’s Specialty Foods, SENECA Foundry

Community Development
  • Heartland Power Cooperative for Hanson Family Fine Arts Center

  • North West REC for Sioux County Regional Airport, LeMars Public Library, Partnership with Evertek

  • Woodbury County REC for Camp High Hopes

Policy Development Award
  • Northeast Power Cooperative for USDA REDL&G Application, enhancing economic development efforts, CEO Douglas Aeilts serves as Chair of the IADG Board of Directors

TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMPANIESMinburn Communications Receives a Ripple Effect Impact Award

The following indent telecommunication companies (ITCs) where honored with the 2018 Ripple Effect IMPACT Award by Aureon and Iowa Area Development Group. All of the companies are honored for operating revolving loan funds (RLFs) that provide critical financing for business and community development in rural Iowa.

Brooklyn Mutual Telecommunications Cooperative

Citizens Mutual Telephone Cooperative

Colo Telephone Company

East Buchanan Telephone Cooperative

Ellsworth Cooperative Telephone Association

Farmers & Merchants Mutual Telephone Company

Farmers Cooperative Telephone Cooperative - Dysart

Farmers Mutual Cooperative Telephone Company - Harlan

Farmers Mutual Telco of Stanton

Heart of Iowa Communications Cooperative

HTC Communications

Interstate 35 Communications

Minburn Communications

Northwest Communications

OmniTel Communications

Panora Communications Cooperative

River Valley Telecommunications

Stratford Mutual Telephone Company

Templeton Telephone Company

USA Communications

Webster-Calhoun Cooperative Telephone Association

Winnebago Communications